Louisiana's

Graduated Driver's License Laws

YEAR OF AGE

ELIGIBLE FOR LEARNER'S LICENSE

PRE-LICENSING REQUIREMENT

15

- Successful Completion of Driver's Education Course**(RS 32:402.1)
- Pass Visual Exam
- Pass Written Test with OMV or Driving School

RESTRICTIONS

- Must be accompanied by a licensed parent, guardian, adult at least age 21 yoa, or licensed sibling at least age 18 yoa.
- No cell phone usage, including hands free (RS 32:300.7)
- Must complete at least 50 hours of supervised driving,15 of those hours at night (RS 32:405.1)

YEAR OF AGE 16

ELIGIBLE FOR Intermediate License

PRE-LICENSING REQUIREMENT

- Possess Learner's License for a minimum of 180 days
- Completed 50 hours of supervised driving, 15 of those hours at night (RS 32:405.1)
- No At-Fault Crashes with Learner's License (RS 32:407)
- No Moving Violations with Learner's License (RS 32:407)
- No curfew, drug or alcohol law violations
- Pass Road Skills Test with OMV or Driving School (RS 32:407)

RESTRICTIONS

- Restricted driving between 11pm-5am unless with licensed parent/guardian, licensed adult at least 21 yoa or licensed sibling 18 yoa older (RS 32:407)
- May not transport more than one passenger under 21 yoa between 6pm-5am unless the passenger is immediate family (RS 32:407)
- Drivers 17 yoa and under are prohibited from using cell phones for talk, text (read, write or send) unless for emergencies (RS 32:300.7)
- Drivers shall ensure all passengers are properly seat belted prior to placing vehicle in motion (RS 32:407)





Louisiana's

Graduated Driver's License Laws

YEAR OF AGE 17

ELIGIBLE FOR **CLASS "E" LICENSE**

PRE-LICENSING REQUIREMENT

- Complete requirements for Intermediate License (RS 32:407)
- · No At-Fault Crashes (12 consecutive months) (RS 32:407)
- No Moving Violations (12) consecutive months) (RS 32:407)
- No curfew, drug or alcohol law violations (12 consecutive months) (RS 32:407)

RESTRICTIONS

 Drivers 17 yoa and under are prohibited from using cell phones for talk, text (read, write or send) unless for emergencies (RS 32:300.7)

- **Students may participate in the classroom instruction if they are, at a minimum, in the eighth grade and within 90 days of their 15th birthday. Students cannot participate in the behindthe-wheel training until the age of 15. (RS 32:402.1)
- * The term "Intermediate" will be depicted on the driver's license. Color and orientation will be differentiated for under 21 licenses. (RS 32:407)

Underage DWI; 0.02-0.07 BAC, if driver is
0.08 BAC or more charge with RS 14:98
DWI
Possession of Alcohol by a Minor
Unlawful purchase of Alcoholic Beverages by persons on behalf of persons under 21
Possession of Alcoholic Beverage in Motor Vehicle (Applies to all occupants)
Child Seat Restraint Use
Seat Belt Law (All occupants must be properly restrained; Exemptions: Vehicles



"This card is provided to you, to help reduce young driver injuries and fatalities due to motor vehicle crashes"





